Palić is situated 8 kilometres north of Subotica. In the past, the lake used to be salty with curative mud and water. At the turn of the 19th to 20th century it was at its peak as a spa and fashionable summer resort. Palić used to be an exclusive spa and remained one of the favourite summer resorts. The beginning of tourism in Palić is linked to the year 1845 when the first spa baths were built.
The Grand Park (1840) represents a unique ambience created by combining natural values and architectural heritage. This heritage, along with the picturesque villas, consists of monumental buildings intended for relaxation and enjoyment. Those include the Water Tower, Grand Terrace which is experiencing its renaissance as a modern multifunctional facility, Music Pavilion and Women’s Beach, all opened in 1912. They were designed in secessionist style, that is, Hungarian variant of it. Authors of these unique buildings are architects who also designed the Town Hall and Synagogue in Subotica.
Lajos Vermes, a large estate owner and sports enthusiast from Subotica, organized sports competitions in Palić between 1880 and 1914, thus gathering hundreds of then best athletes from Central Europe. Many sports facilities were built for this purpose. Competitions had been organized in the Olympic spirit, 16 years before the Olympic Games were revived.
In this story about Palić we should also mention the Zoo which, with its organization, beauty and treatment of animals, belongs to the leading zoos in this part of Europe, as well as the stone Summer Stage, hidden among tall pine trees, best-known as the place where the European Film Festival is held.
There are three high-class hotels, renovated comfortable villas, several bed and breakfast inns and a large number of rooms in private accommodation in Palić today. Its rich tourist offer also includes excellent restaurants and cafes, sports facilities, the zoo, three beaches, bicycle lane, walks, as well as dynamic cultural, entertaining and sports programme.